Sunday, July 18, 2010

Happy writer-ly news

Sweet Waters has been named a finalist for the 2010 Carol Award in the Women's Fiction category!

I'm excited, honored, and so, so ... well, surprised. When I received the call from contest coordinator, Mindy Obenhaus, I think I squealed a very mature, "No way!"

Formerly known as the ACFW Book of the Year, the award was recently renamed in order to honor editorial pioneer of Christian Fiction, Carol Johnson.

In a press release, ACFW CEO Colleen Coble noted, "Although Carol Johnson is most content behind the scenes, her contribution to modern Christian fiction (both historical and contemporary) is impossible to measure. Where would we be today if she had turned down those earlier projects and the firestorm of fiction they helped unleash?"

Follow this link for a comprehensive list of finalists in each category. So many friends on that list too ~ congrats to all!


Rebecca LuElla Miller said...

Sweet! (Pun intended!;-)

I'll be pulling for SW for sure!


Julia M. Reffner said...

Congratulations, Julie! That must have been so exciting!

Vader's Mom said...

Yippee!! Very much deserved.